top of page
Bishop Carlos
The Anglican Communion

In Spain there are two Anglican churches – the Spanish Episcopal Church and the Diocese in Europe. Both were founded in the middle of the 19th Century, and both belong to the Anglican Communion.


The Spanish Episcopal Church, or to use its full title in Spanish, Iglesia Española Reformada Episcopal (IERE), was organized in 1868. Since 1980 it has been under the jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury. The whole of Spain is its diocese. It has 52 clergy and 43 congregations.


The Diocese in Europe, or to use its full title, the Diocese of Gibraltar in Europe, was founded in 1842. Since 1980 it has been the 42nd diocese of the Church of England. It has 295 churches and 159 full time Stipendiary clergy over 30 countries. Bishop Carlos is an honorary assistant bishop in the Diocese.


In addition to these two Anglican churches, in other parts of Continental Europe there is the Convocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe, which was created in 1859 by the Episcopal Church in the United States, and in Portugal there is the Lusitanian Church, which was formed in 1880. Both churches are members of the Anglican Communion.

bottom of page